Carson Water Subconservancy District


The Carson Water Subconservancy District, or CWSD, is a regional watershed agency. It is a unique multi-county, bi-state agency dedicated to establishing a balance between the water needs of the communities within the Carson River Watershed and the function of the river system.

CWSD’s fourteen member Board of Directors consists of representatives from each of the six counties within the watershed and include several agricultural representatives and an advisory member from Storey County. Board members are selected by their respective county boards and serve four year terms.


Meetings are held every 3rd Wednesday of the month


This is an 13-member board with a 4-year term (5 members from Douglas County) and one non-voting member from Storey County. 

More information on the CWSD can be found on their website at

County Commission Members:

  • John Engels
    Term Expires December 2024
  • Mark Gardner
    Term Expires December 2024


  • Dave Nelson
    Term Expires December 2024

Agricultural Members:

  • Fred Stodieck
    Term Expires December 2022
  • Jack Jacobs
    Term Expires December 2022


  • Ed James: 775-887-7456


  • Catrina Schambra: 775-887-7450

Board Application Form